Cooking without Recipes: Chicken Parmesan

ChickenParmChicken parmesan was one of the first things I ever learned to cook.  I learned by watching my mother prepare it for dinner (it’s a family favorite).  It’s so simple, and she made it so often, that she didn’t use a recipe.  And now, neither do I.  And you don’t need one either.  Just gather-

Chicken breasts (skinless, boneless)

1 egg

flour

breadcrumbs (I use Italian)

a jar of spaghetti sauce

Sliced cheese (I usually use a mozzarella blend)

salt and pepper

Olive Oil

Grated cheese (not required, but highly recommended!)

Start by putting your chicken between two pieces of plastic wrap and pounding them thin.  Crack the egg into a bowl and beat it.  Set aside.

Preheat your oven to 350° or so- something pretty medium/high.

Season the chicken with salt and pepper.  Dip the chicken breasts into flour and turn to coat.  Shake off excess, and dip into the egg.  Coat, then drudge in breadcrumbs.

In a large skillet, heat the olive oil on medium-high.  You need just enough to cover the bottom of the pan, keeping in mind that it thins out as it heats up.

Put the chicken in the skillet and cook until it’s a nice, golden color.  Flip, and let cook until the other side is golden brown (about 4 minutes per side, depending on your stove).

In a shallow baking dish, spread a thin layer of tomato sauce.  Lay the chicken breasts in the baking dish and pour a little more tomato sauce on top.  Then lay the cheese on top of that.  Pop the whole thing into the oven for about 15 minutes.  It’s done when the chicken is fully cooked.

While that may sound complicated, it’s really fairly foolproof.  My mom even taught my brother to make it in high school- no recipe required!!

I like to service it with spaghetti, with a basil garnish.  

About how bout some cake

I'm a 20-something woman with an insatiable thirst for adventure. I love red wine, chocolate cake, and comments from my lovely readers.
This entry was posted in Food & Recipes, Indulgences and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Cooking without Recipes: Chicken Parmesan

  1. Chicken parm is so easy and yummy–the perfect recipe combination!

  2. Love this post, Rachel! Making me hungry!

    I never cook with recipes but that’s because I’m too lazy to do it. And that’s why I rarely bake. Jealous of your baking chops!

  3. Elaine DeWitt says:

    That is what I fixed for supper tonight. I used parmesan cheese instead of flour and added garlic powder, paprika, and parsley. It was yummy.

  4. Jen says:

    This used to be one of my favorite meals too! I made it all the time until I found out that I had a gluten intolerance and I couldn’t handle much dairy 😦 I’ve finally found some good rice bread crumbs and great pasta so I might give it another try! I might just have to go light on the cheese (which is totally the best part)!

    xo jen

Leave a comment