Huevos Rancheros

Huevos Rancheros

Ever since moving to California, I’ve developed a voracious appetite for Mexican food.  I mean, I thought I loved tacos and cheese dip back East, but it turns out I was barely scratching the surface.  The East coast can keep their runny white “queso” dip- I now opt for queso fundido (AKA “fun cheese”).  And a life without carne asada fries isn’t really worth living.  Then there’s California Burritos… don’t even get me started on those!

So when I went home to Atlanta for Christmas, I decided to treat my family to one of my favorite Mexican meals: huevos rancheros.

I’d never made them before, but it’s actually pretty simple using this recipe.  And the family gobbled them up!

Ingredients:

2 small tomatoes (I used canned, since they’re out of season)

1 small onion

1 small/medium jalapeno (chopped finely, seeds removed)

2 cloves of garlic (one diced, one crushed)

1/2 teaspoon hot sauce

1 teaspoon ground cumin

salt & pepper

2 tablespoons + 2 teaspoons olive oil

1 15-oz. can of black beans (drained and rinsed)

1/2 cup water

4 eggs

4 small corn tortillas

crumbled cheese (the recipe suggests feta, I used queso cojida, which is parmesan)

chopped cilantro to taste

avocado (optional)

Directions:

To prepare the salsa, combine the tomatoes (chopped finely), onion (also chopped),  jalapeno, cumin, hot sauce, chopped garlic, and salt and pepper (to taste).

Heat a medium-sized skillet over low heat and add 2 tsp. of olive oil.  Fry the salsa (as seen above) for about 3 minutes, so that it thickens a little bit.  Then set aside.

huevos Rancheros2

Using the same pan, add the crushed garlic, black beans, 1/2 cup of water, and salt to taste.  Heat together, mashing the black beans as much as you desire (this helps them absorb the water).

Huevos Rancheros 3

While your beans are cooking, begin warming your tortillas.  I did mine over the open flame of the gas stove, but an oven or microwave would also work.  You can also pan-fry them, if you want them crispier.

At the same time, start frying your eggs in another skillet with the remaining olive oil.  Season to taste with salt and pepper.  I like my eggs runny, but that’s just me.

When everything is ready, put the tortilla on your plate and add a heaping portion of beans, then the egg, then salsa and cheese and cilantro.  Serve with sliced avocado on the side, if desired (I highly recommend it!)

All said and done, they take about 20 minutes to whip up.  The recipe makes enough to create fiestas in 4 mouths (or 2 very hungry ones).  Buen provecho!

About how bout some cake

I'm a 20-something woman with an insatiable thirst for adventure. I love red wine, chocolate cake, and comments from my lovely readers.
This entry was posted in Food & Recipes, Indulgences, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Huevos Rancheros

  1. AJ says:

    I think California and Texas are the two places to get the best Mexican food! Love huevos rancheros!

    -AJ
    FitTravelerAJ.com

Leave a comment