Rooftop Dinner Party, Southern Style

It has been a painfully rainy Spring here in the DC area.  Almost every day I’ve woken up longing for the temperate, sunny weather I enjoyed in San Diego.  When we did finally get a momentary break from the drizzle, it was cause for celebration.  IMG_1038

Kelly and Hala showed up at my door, champagne in hand, and I whipped up some of my favorite Southern dishes: fried chicken, mac n cheese, biscuits, and fried okra. I’d never made fried okra before, so that recipe needs some work.  But the mac n cheese and fried chicken were top notch.

Here’s how I prepared the chicken:

I gathered bone-in thighs and drumsticks, buttermilk, hot sauce, salt and pepper, paprika, and flour.IMG_1028

Add about 1/2 cup of hot sauce to the buttermilk, then add about 1/4 tsp. pepper, 1 tsp salt, and 1/2 tsp. paprika to the flour.  You’ll want to set up a nice little workstation since the whole thing gets a bit messy.

IMG_1030Dip each piece of chicken in the buttermilk mixture, then coat thoroughly in the flour mixture.  Then place the chicken on a baking sheet where it can sit for a while.

IMG_1033

After about 30 minutes, the chicken will start to look less powdery – that’s what you want.  Start heating up a big pot of oil (I used peanut).  Once its very hot, you can start dropping in the chicken a few pieces at a time.  Cook it at least 10 minutes, until it’s crispy and golden brown.

IMG_1034

Half way there!

IMG_1041

 

Then set it on a plate (covered in paper towels) while you finish the batch.

 

 

The last step is to enjoy with friends.  White wine and rooftop views suggested.

About how bout some cake

I'm a 20-something woman with an insatiable thirst for adventure. I love red wine, chocolate cake, and comments from my lovely readers.
This entry was posted in food, Food & Recipes, Fried Chicken, Indulgences, Southern Food and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Rooftop Dinner Party, Southern Style

  1. IT WAS SO GOOD

    all caps necessary.

Leave a comment