Seafood Pasta

img_3603

Seafood Pasta has become one of my favorite things to make at home.  Usually I save myself the trouble and buy pasta from the store, but last weekend I had a whole afternoon wide open so I rolled it out from scratch.

I’ve covered the pasta bit here, so I won’t bore you with that, but I will share the sauce with you because it was so easy and so delicious.

Here’s what you’ll need:

  • 2 Cans Crushed Tomatoes (28 oz. each)
  • Olive Oil
  • 1 clove garlic
  • 1 bottle
  • 1 bottle clam juice
  • 4 large basil leaves
  • 2 large springs of thyme
  • Mussels, clams, or any other seafood you want to add (scallops or squid would be great)

img_3588

Inspired by this recipe, I started by adding some garlic to a glug of olive oil over medium heat.  As the garlic was starting to brown, I added the crushed tomatoes, the whole bottle of clam juice, basil, and thyme.

img_3590

Let all of that simmer for a while, until about 1/3 of it has evaporated.  When the sauce is almost ready, start boiling salted water for pasta. While that cooks, wash and debeard your mussels and clams.  Be sure to toss any mussels that have already opened.

img_3594

When the sauce is ready, place the shellfish in the sauce and place a lid on top.

img_3597Cook until the mussel shells have opened.

About five minutes later…

img_3598

When the pasta has finished cooking, combine the two and serve with parmesan cheese.

img_3599

I enjoyed mine with a nice crisp glass of sauvignon blanc, and I strongly encourage you to do the same. Bon appetite!

img_3602

About how bout some cake

I'm a 20-something woman with an insatiable thirst for adventure. I love red wine, chocolate cake, and comments from my lovely readers.
This entry was posted in food, Food & Recipes, Home Cooking, Indulgences, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment