Arlington National Cemetery

DSC_0526

Tulips, with the Lincoln Memorial, National Monument, and Capitol building in the background.

I’ve lived in the DC area for a year and a half now and I’ve barely shared anything about the city.  It’s time for that to change! So this morning I walked over to one of my favorite DC sights, Arlington National Cemetery.  Perhaps it sounds a bit morbid to call this place a favorite, but more than most of the monuments it fills me sentiments of pride, gratitude, and patriotism.  It’s also just really beautiful.

DSC_0539DSC_0536DSC_0541

It’s incredibly large, filled with tombstones aligned neatly in perfect rows and meticulously maintained.  Each one representing a man or woman who’s life is woven into the fabric of our nation.  If you aren’t comfortable walking for miles, or if you want to learn about the rich history of the cemetery, there’s a tour where they take you around in the shuttle. I would probably really enjoy it, but I haven’t done it yet. I just wander over every now and then when I have some free time.

DSC_0542DSC_0545

There are several buildings and monuments within the cemetery.  To me, the most interesting one is the Tomb of the Unknown Soldier.  It’s been guarded by a soldier 24/7 since 1948 – through rain and sleet and snow.  Every hour (or half hour depending on season) they have a changing of the guard ceremony, which is very cool to watch (and free!).  I’ve been several times and I really recommend it.

IMG_2557

DSC_0534DSC_0546

No matter how much time you have, it’s a nice place to visit if you find yourself in our capital anytime soon!  It’s also nice any time of year.  Trees are blooming now, it’s also gorgeous with a blanket of snow. Volunteers place wreaths at each tombstone at Christmastime and it’s equally brilliant in the fall.  Just go during daylight hours before the gates close.

About how bout some cake

I'm a 20-something woman with an insatiable thirst for adventure. I love red wine, chocolate cake, and comments from my lovely readers.
This entry was posted in DC, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Arlington National Cemetery

  1. Margaret Gannon says:

    Rachel,

    I love reading about your adventures! You have a way with words (and pictures). Arlington and the Jefferson Memorial are my two favorite places in DC as well. If you ever journey to Charleston SC, I hope you will give me a call, I’d love to see you. Amanda (and husband, Bill Thompson) live in NYC right by Central Park and The Dakota. Her email is amandag85@gmail.com if you are ever in NYC.

    Respectfully,

    Margaret G. Gannon
    Mathematics and Computer Science
    The Citadel
    171 Moultrie Street
    Charleston, SC 29409
    Office: (843) 953-5048
    Fax: (843) 953-7391

Leave a comment