Seafood 101

67590E6B-2F0A-4857-84F3-5D2A464296B3Last Friday night I took a cooking class called Spring Seafood 101 at L’Academie de Cuisine.  I’ve enjoyed almost every cooking class I’ve ever taken, but this chef was particularly impressive for her vast knowledge.  The author of several books, she closed the class with a fascinating mini-lecture about olive oil, delving into the significance of acidity and the cultural customs surrounding the olive growing and cultivation.  She really knew her stuff, and she taught us how to make four simple but impressive and delicious seafood recipes.

IMG_6500

The first thing we made was a seafood stew.  The chef made the dish at the front of the classroom, talking us through each step. There was a big mirror above her so that we could see what she was doing on the counter.  Then we got into groups of three and made our own at a station in front of us.  It was the first time I’d ever cooked squid before and I was surprised how easy it was.  This was a great, practical recipe to learn because it was simple, delicious, and it’s the kind of thing that can be altered based on what seafood you have available.

IMG_8655IMG_0546IMG_3943

The next thing we made was the branzino. I think I will replicate this at home sometime when I am having guests over. It looks elegant but is so easy. We just chopped up some herbs, mixed in olive oil, coated the inside and top of the fish with it, and baked it in the oven with some chopped fennel and tomatoes. It was delicious and also very healthy.

IMG_3945IMG_3948IMG_3951IMG_3958

IMG_3961The third thing we made was monkfish in parchment. We used the same herb mix and I didn’t love this one as much, but I was glad that she taught me the technique because I used it to cook salmon this week and it was really easy and turned out delicious.

IMG_3954IMG_3956IMG_3957The last thing that we made was my favorite – a shrimp tartini. A tartini is basically an open-faced sandwich.  I’ve already made this recipe several times since the class because it was so easy and delicious.  It’s just some french country bread, herbed cream cheese (Boursin), sliced cucumbers, and shrimp. We sautéed the shrimp in olive oil with herbs de Provance and a squeeze of lemon.  Based on the simplicity of it, my expectations were low but it really impressed me. I am not exaggerating when I say I have made it three times since then.

IMG_3959IMG_3969IMG_3970The class had some amazing helpers to pour us wine and clear dirty dishes.  It was a really lovely night and would be fun for a date or a family with older children. I heard about this class through CourseHorse.com.  They have a TON of classes in cities around the country, and they’re not all about cooking. They also offer them for languages, beauty, fitness, IT, and more.  Don’t you think learning new things adds a certain richness to life? I certainly do.

 

About how bout some cake

I'm a 20-something woman with an insatiable thirst for adventure. I love red wine, chocolate cake, and comments from my lovely readers.
This entry was posted in DC, food, Healthy meals & snacks, Indulgences, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Seafood 101

  1. Peggie Ganon says:

    Rachel, I love hearing about your adventures! Amanda and Bill are living in NYC – if you are in the area, I know Amanda would love to see you! (We’re in Charleston if you are in the area)

    • Hi Peggie! Thank you so much for reading 🙂 It would be so fun to see you or Amanda again after all these years! I am going to NY next weekend for some family stuff. Wish I was going to have free time while I was there. I’ll have to plan another trip soon and reach out to her.

  2. I need to start back cooking again…Today it is all about eating healthy. Now I don’t like the fish with heads on it. It gives me nightmares but your shrimp recipes are on point…

Leave a comment